EXTRAORDINARY ANNUAL MEETING OF EXETER CITY COUNCIL

Guildhall Tuesday 21 September 2010

The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Cllr Choules)

The Deputy Lord Mayor (Cllr Sheldon)

Councillors M A Baldwin, P J Brock, S Brock, Coates, Cole, Crow, Mrs Danks, Edwards, Fullam, A Hannaford, R M Hannaford, Mrs Henson, Martin, Morris, D J Morrish, Mrs J Morrish, Mottram, Newby, Newcombe, Newton, Payne, Prowse, Robson, Ruffle, Shiel, Spackman, Sterry, Sutton, Taghdissian, Thompson and Wadham

65

OFFICIAL COMMUNICATIONS

The Lord Mayor announced the death of former City Councillor Eric Whiteway who had passed away recently, aged 91 years. The Council stood for a minute's silence in tribute to Mr Whiteway who had served as a member of the Council for 18 years.

The Lord Mayor reminded the Council that this Extraordinary Annual Meeting had been called following the election to those seats where Councillors' terms of office had come to an end as a result of the overturning of the decision to grant unitary status to Exeter City Council. He thanked those former Councillors who were no longer members for their service to the Council and welcomed returning and new members.

66

APPOINTMENT OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

RESOLVED that Councillor Edwards be appointed Leader of the Council for the remainder of the Municipal Year.

67

APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE AND PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

RESOLVED that the Council's Executive be appointed as follows for the remainder of the Municipal Year:-

Councillor	Portfolio or Group
Edwards, PW Martin, IJ	Leader, Budget and Strategic Vision Business Transformation and Human
Baldwin, D	Resources Housing and Community Involvement
Hannaford, RM	Environment and Leisure
Sutton, RH	Sustainable Development and Transport
Sheldon, GN	Economy and Tourism
Fullam, AA	Liberal Democrat
Henson, Mrs YAC	Conservative
Morrish, Mrs J	Liberal

68 APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE ON OTHER COMMITTEES ETC. AND THE CHAIRS AND DEPUTY CHAIRS

RESOLVED that the membership of Committees etc, Chairs and Deputy Chairs, as shown in the Appendix to the Minutes, be agreed, subject to the agreement of Planning Committee to the final membership of the Area Working Parties.

(The meeting commenced at 6.00 pm and closed at 6.15 pm)

Chair

Minute Item 68

EXETER CITY COUNCIL

EXECUTIVE, SCRUTINY AND OTHER COMMITTEES ETC. 2010/11

EXECUTIVE (9)

Edwards, P.W. (Chair) Baldwin, D. Fullam, A.A. Hannaford, R.M. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Martin, I.J. Morrish, Mrs J. Sheldon, G.N. Sutton, R.H.

PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

Edwards, P.W. Martin, I.J.

Baldwin, D. Hannaford, R.M. Sutton, R.H. Sheldon, G.N. Leader, Budget and Strategic Vision Business Transformation and Human Resources* Housing and Community Involvement Environment and Leisure Sustainable Development and Transport Economy and Tourism

*In order to ensure the most effective coordination of budgeting and staffing issues in the preparation and delivery of the Council's response to the significant cuts in public expenditure, it is proposed that the HR function will be assumed by the Leader for the remainder of this Municipal Year, with advice from the Portfolio Holder.

SCRUTINY - RESOURCES (13)

Coates, J.H. (Chair) Cole, N.S. (Deputy Chair) Baldwin, M.A. Branston, R.A. Crow, T.N.C. Hobden, S.M. Macdonald, M. Mitchell, K.J. Morrish, D.J. Morris, H. Spackman, R.D. Thompson, Mrs C. Wardle, A.J.

Employee Liaison Forum (5)

Edwards, P.W. (Chair) Coates, J.H. Cole, N.S. Crow, T.N.C. Morris, H.

SCRUTINY - COMMUNITY (13)

Mitchell, K.J. (Chair) Shiel, N. (Deputy Chair) Branston, R.A. Danks, Mrs M.E. Hobden, S.M. Morris, H. Mottram, L.W. Newcombe, A.V. Newton, L. Robson, L.S. Sterry, H.R Wardle, A.J. Winterbottom, J.W.

SCRUTINY - ECONOMY (13)

Brock, Mrs S.R. (Chair) Danks, Mrs M.E. (Deputy Chair) Baldwin, M.A. Brock, P.J. Hannaford, A.J. Payne, T.V. Prowse, G.J. Robson, L.S. Spackman, R.D. Sterry, H.R. Taghdissian, J. Ruffle, R. Wardle, A.J.

PLANNING COMMITTEE (13)

Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. (Chair) Cole, N.S. (Deputy Chair) Baldwin, D. Brock, P.J. Edwards, P.W. Macdonald, M. Morrish, D.J. Newby, R.C. Prowse, G.J. Sheldon, G.N. Sutton, R.H. Thompson, Mrs C. Wadham, P.R.

Planning Member Working Group (8)

Newby, R.C. (Chair) Cole, N.S. Edwards, P.W. Morrish, D.J. Prowse, G.J. Sutton, R.H. Wadham, P.R. Chair of Planning Committee

Area Working Parties

Northern (7)

Baldwin, D. Cole, N.S. Edwards, P.W. Henson, Mrs Y.A.C. Macdonald, M. Prowse, G.J. Thompson, Mrs C.

Southern (3)

Morrish, D.J. Newby, R.C. Sheldon, G.N.

Western (3)

Brock, P.J. Sutton, R.H. Wadham, P.R.

GRANTS COMMITTEE (6)

Newcombe, A.V. (Chair) Branston, R.A. Crow, T.N.C. Mottram, L.W. Payne, T.V. Spackman, R.D. Leader (ex-officio)

LICENSING COMMITTEE (14)

Shiel, N. (Chair) Sterry, H.R. (Deputy Chair) Branston, R.A. Brock, Mrs S.R. Danks, Mrs M.E. Hannaford, A.J. Macdonald, M. Newby, R.C. Newton, L. Robson, L.S. Ruffle, R. Taghdissian, J. Wadham, P.R. Winterbottom, J.W.

Licensing Sub-Committees (3)

Licensing Sub-Committee membership to be drawn from Licensing Committee Members above.

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (8 + 3 independent members)

Mr Mimmack, A. (Independent Chair) Smith, Ms L. (Independent Deputy Chair) Brock, Mrs S.R. Danks, Mrs M.E. Hannaford. A.J. Hobden, S.M. Kirby, Professor B. (Independent member) Morrish, D.J. Sterry, H.R. Thompson, Mrs C. Winterbottom, J.W.

FINAL ACCOUNTS COMMITTEE (5)

Edwards, P.W. (Chair) Baldwin, D. Coates, J.H. Fullam, A.A. Morrish, D.J.

EXETER HIGHWAYS AND TRAFFIC ORDERS COMMITTEE (13)

(4 City Councillors)

Morrish, D.J. Taghdissian, J. Wadham, P.R. Wardle, A.J.

(9 County Councillors)

Brock, P.J. Foggin, O.M. Hannaford, R.M. Leadbetter, A.R. Newcombe, A.V. Owen, J. Prowse, G.J. Spence, Mrs S.M. Westlake, R.A. This page is intentionally left blank